Women’s MMA Awards 2012 Nominations Released

posted by Wombat Sports
Tuesday, December 18, 2012 at 8:16am EST

Wombat sports is dedicated to women in combat sports. Former news editor of “Fightergirls” MarQ Piocos has been covering Women’s MMA for over three years, having picked up coverage of wrestling, boxing, and grappling. It is his vision to bring some of the best coverage to help bring and promote the ever expanding popularity of women’s MMA, wrestling, and martial arts with some of the best writers and athletes.

Support women's sports and SHARE this story with your friends!

wmma-awards-2012-light-bg-300x300WMMA Press Association has released the nominees for The Fourth Annual Women’s MMA Awards. The awards are to help recognize the accomplishment of all the female fighters and organizations that support the sport throughout the year. The WMMA Press members include…

This year, the association has added Promoting Women in MMA to the list of members.

The awards will be voted on in the coming weeks; and given out at a ceremony Jan.4 in Kansas City; the night before InvictaFC 4. Location to be announced. One award, the Fan Favorite of the Year, is open to public voting and can be voted on below.

The recipient of the “Mia Hayes Inspirational Fighter of the Year” award will be announced at the awards ceremony. Sara McMann won the honor at last year’s awards.

Here are the nominees (along with last years winners) Fight of the Year (2011 winner - Patricia Vidonic vs Chelsea Colarelli)

  • Ronda Rousey vs Miesha Tate at Strikeforce: Rousey vs Tate (Video here)
  • Sarah Kaufman vs Alexis Davis at Strikeforce: Rousey vs Tate (Video part 1; Video part 2)
  • Kaitlin Young vs Leslie Smith at Invicta FC 1 (Video here)
  • Jessica Penne vs Lisa Ellis at Invicta FC 1 (Video here)
  • Rosi Sexton vs Aisling Daly at Cage Warriors 47 (Video here)
  • Sara McMann vs Shayna Baszler at Invicta FC 2 (Video here)
  • Miesha Tate vs Julie Kedzie at Strikeforce: Rousey vs Kaufman (no video available)

Fighter of the Year

(2011 Winner – Ronda Rousey. Nominees chosen from the weight division winners)

Female Featherweight (145) of the Year (2011 winner – Ronda Rousey)

  • Julia Budd
  • Marloes Coenen
  • Ediene Gomes
  • Germaine de Randamie

Female Bantamweight (135) of the Year (2011 winner – Alexis Davis)

  • Alexis Davis
  • Sarah Kaufman
  • Sara McMann
  • Ronda Rousey

Female Flyweight (125) of the Year (2011 winner – Barb Honchak)

  • Jessica Eye
  • Munah Holland
  • Barb Honchak
  • Michelle Ould

Female Strawweight (115) of the Year (2011 winner – Jessica Aguilar)

  • Jessica Aguilar
  • Carla Esparza
  • Ayaka Hamasaki
  • Felice Herrig

Female Atomweight (105) of the Year (2011 Winner – Naho Sugiyama)

  • Stephanie Frausto
  • Jessica Penne
  • Satomi Takano
  • Michelle Waterson

Female Newcomer of the Year (2011 winner – Ronda Rousey. Nominees must have had 2 pro fights in 2012)

  • Joanne Calderwood
  • Jessamyn Duke
  • Emily Kagan
  • Karolina Kowalkiewicz
  • Eeva Siiskonen
  • Satomi Takano
  • Paige VanZant

Amateur Fighter of the Year (2011 winner Taylor Stratford. Nominees must NOT have had pro 2 fights in 2012)

  • Cortney Casey
  • Brittany Dugas
  • Rebecca Heintzman
  • Kaiyana Rain
  • Tecia Torres

Knockout of the Year (2011 winner – Heather Clark KO’s April Coutino )  

  • Vanessa Porto defeats Luana Teixeira via KO at :41 of round 1 at Pink Fight 2 (Video here)
  • Sheila Gaff defeats Jennifer Maia via KO at :10 of round 1 at Cage Warriors: Fight Night 4 (Video here)
  • Munah Holland defeats Marianna Kheyfets via KO at 4:45 of round 2 at Bellator 63 (Video not available)
  • Kaline Medeiros defeats Stephanie Eggink via KO at :07 of round 1 at Beatdown MMA (Video Here)
  • Joanne Calderwood defeats Ashley Cummins via KO at 3:13 of round 1 at Invicta FC 3 (Video here)
  • Sheila Bird defeats Christina Barry via KO at :11 of round 1 at AFC 12: Domination (Video here)

Submission of the Year (2011 winner – Miesha Tate triangle chokes Marloes Coenen)

  • Marta Chojnoska defeats Paulina Suska via Scarf Hold Armlock at :42 of round 1 at KSW 19 (Video here)
  • Ayaka Hamasaki defeats Yuka Tsuji via Kimura at 3:41 of round 1 at Jewels: 19th Ring (Video here)
  • Sarah D’Alelio defeats Vanessa Porto via Reverse Triangle Choke at 3:16 of round 1 at Invicta FC 2 (Video here)
  • Jessica Penne defeats Naho Sugiyama via Triangle Choke at 2:20 of round 2 at Invicta FC 3 (Video here)
  • Stephanie Frausto defeats Amy Davis via Guillotine Choke at :48 of round 1 at Invicta FC 3 (Video here)
  • Jessica Eye defeats Zoila Gurgel via Standing Arm Triangle Choke at :58 of round 1 at Bellator 83 (video here)

Promotion of the Year (2011 winner – JEWELS)  

  • Bellator Fighting Championships
  • Cage Warriors Fighting Championship
  • Invicta Fighting Championships
  • Jewels
  • Strikeforce
  • Super Fight League

Sponsor of the Year (2011 Co-winners – Fightchix & Tussel Fight Gear)

  • Babes of MMA
  • Brawl and Maul Fight Performance Gear
  • Fight Chix
  • FighterGirls
  • MMA Chick
  • Polanti Watches
  • Tussle Fight Gear
  • VII A.D. Jewelry
  • Xtreme Female Fight Gear

Headline of the Year (2011 Winner – “Zuffa Purchases Strikeforce”)

  • Ronda Rousey Signs With UFC
  • Knapp and Martin Form Invicta FC, All-Female Promotion
  • Strikeforce Cancels Events, Rumored To Fold In 2013

*****Fan Favorite***** (2011 winner – Cyborg Santos. Cast your vote below.) Take Our Poll

Support women's sports and SHARE this story with your friends!

Filed Under:  

View Original Post at wombatsports.wordpress.com

View MarQFPR's Full Profile

No one has commented on this yet. Be the first!

Leave Your Comment:  Read our comment policy